The Ongoing Outrageousness that is Our Life…


My God, time has been flying by the last few days. With the sun shining bright and the weather getting warmer my life has been an endless outdoor adventure and I have found little time to do much else. Let me update you on the happenings of our household….

With the weather being nice as it has been the last few days have been spent exploring the city we relocated to in January. We have not had a chance to get out and see where we live due to hectic schedules, lack of funds and poor weather, so this last week has been rather enjoyable for me. We have taken to hoping on the subway with no set destination, we choose a subway station to exit at and we set out to explore. This blind travel has taught me many things about the city I now live in. Toronto, Ontario is a ‘huge’ city with a population of over 2.5 million people there is no such thing as silence. It is also a beautiful city to both visit and live in. The thing about Toronto that amazes me the most is the beauty it holds all around it. You can be walking along a busy city street and you simply need to turn a corner to get a “small town” feel. You can wander down quiet residential streets, with tiny shops and friendly people and within moments you can step back into the chaos that is “big city” living… It truly is a diverse place to live. There is a ton of greenery in this city and amazing outdoor adventures and areas to explore. With ample amounts of trails and forests, a thriving beach front, and even a great island (easily accessible by ferry) Toronto is the city of never-ending exploration.. Every time we step out the door we are off on a new adventure. Even when we are tight on fund there is some much for us to see and do here… I am starting to feel like I am home.

Because of these fantastic adventures I have not been able to accomplish much else, blog posts included… Though a lot of interesting things have happened:

We made our first attempt at moving L into a big girl bed… This attempt failed miserably. I have one of those great “convertible” cribs that save you a ton of cash in the long run. This ‘super’ crib converts from a crib to a toddler bed and then to a double bed later down the road. It is a quality piece that usually costs a pretty penny (around $350 Canadian) but the frugal shopper that I am, I managed to score this amazing solid wood crib for $50 bucks!!! In turning it into a toddler bed the process is rather simple, you simply need to remove 4 screws and lift off the lower side. Easy as pie… Now getting your child to adapt to this simple change is often the challenge.. L was ecstatic at first. She was content for hours climbing in and out of her ‘big girl’ bed and even had her nap in it peacefully without an issue. She was even more content when she woke up and realized she could just climb out and come find Mommy and Daddy… which she did, with a big smile on her face! But sometime around 6 O’clock in the evening L decided she wanted nothing to do with this amazing new bed, and fought tooth and nail at bed time… 4 hours and a whole lot of screaming, crying attempts later the rail was (not as easily) placed back on the bed, converting it back into the crib that comforted her to sleep in seconds. Attempt one… unsuccessful! We will try again later in the month.

Besides L and her ongoing antics, Lil’ C has been doing well. I must say I have been a very proud Mama lately with numerous compliments on how well-behaved he is, and his latest school tests which have resulted in all A’s. Yep, I must say I am ecstatic! The funny thing is I was starting to get a big worried about Lil’ C. At 7 (almost 8 years-old) my son was starting to seem a little slow (‘Not the brightest crayon in the box, or a few fries short of a Happy meal, kind of slow) Constantly forgetful Lil’ C lives in Lala land where everything is perfect and the roads are made of chocolate… Every sentence he spoke seemed to get stupider and stupider… until lately, I don’t know he just seems to have matured overnight. Don’t get me wrong, we still have moments when we look at him like a little mad man and wonder “what the hell” he was thinking when he opened his mouth to speak, but those moments are getting to be a lot less common in the recent weeks. We have not had to remind him to brush his teeth once in the last 2 months and all his school work is showing that he is learning well.

I think I am most proud of his marks. Before our recent move to the city, the school had shown worry that he was not learning at an age appropriate pace. This was especially true when it came to his reading, it worried me a lot. Lil C loves to read, and like his Mama he is constantly writing stories, journals, or poems… He has even recently stated that he wants to start his own Blog (Note the huge smile on my face) But up until the move his writing and reading was well below what you would expect from a Grade 2 student… and no amount of help from me seemed to be doing any good. Yet since relocating to the city things seemed to have changed… Lil C’s first math test home from his new school was scary… He managed to get a rather unimpressive 9 out of 43!! I was devastated… In fact I even cried… Until I looked at the test and realized a few things: First the questions on this test were “Hard“… It shocked me to see the complete difference in level between the new city and our old town.. C had never even seen math like this before, let alone attempted to complete it on his own.. and Secondly the answers themselves were only wrong because his numbers were switched around… Now at first this realization was scary… Dyslexia is a very difficult thing for anyone to deal with, but after talking to his teacher and monitoring his writing this was ruled out…

Quickly going over the order of numbers with him and a little practice this issue has been almost totally solved. Back to the first realization I set out to show Lil C how this “big boy” math was done (Thank God for Google… Math has never been my strong suit. They say a person is either good at English or Math, rarely both… English is more my cup of tea.) Once I had shown Lil C the process and basics of this math his little world changed.. You could almost see the light bulb turn on in his head! I won’t lie, It was not fun and games.. I can honestly say that it is a good thing I never became a teacher, because there was swearing, a bit of yelling, and at one point a pencil was broken out of frustration… but he finally got it all figured out…

Since then every Math test that has come home has been adorned with a great big A and a fancy “Good Job” sticker, as have all the other tests that have come home for me to see… Science, Math, Social Studies and Language test are proudly displayed on our fridge.. The $1 incentive for each A he brings home has been a big help (and is also starting to cost me big bucks) 

So Yes I am a Proud Mama at the moment with an amazing Genius little boy. His reading skills have raised by over 16 levels (books are marked by letters or numbers and Lil C has gone up from a 9 to a 30 in the last 2 months… It truly is amazing) and his writing skills are noticeably better now than they have ever been. My brilliant boy is well on his way to becoming an award-winning writer at this rate. The difference is unexplainable, as is my happiness in light of it, I truly am starting to feel like this was a good move.

Lil’ C is also very happy. Most of his days are spent outside playing with all his friends. He has more freedom here in the big city than he ever did in our old town… and he loves our little adventures and all there is to explore.

And so… you now know why I have been slacking. I have had good excuse… But since today is a colder day I figured I would catch you up on our exciting adventures and all the changes we have had… Rest assured that my blog is not the only thing that has suffered… I must end this post now as I have an entire house that desperately needs to be cleaned!!!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

