I Apologize in Advance, This Post IS Going to Offend Someone…


I apologize in advance, this post IS going to offend someone. I would like to say up front that it is not my intention to do so, I am simply exercising my right to freedom of speech, and venting my frustrations.

This is not a funny post, I don’t expect the laughter that I  usually look for when I write my blogs. This post is sobering, serious, and is probably going to piss a few people off. I simply want to make myself heard. I want to share my opinion, you can disagree with me, you can be angry with me, you can agree or you can argue, it’s your choice and you can share those feelings if you please. Freedom of speech is a part of this amazing country we live in…. We are separate people, we don’t have to feel the same, think the same, or want the same things. This is my opinion, I don’t expect you to like it. I don’t write to have people like me, and I don’t share my opinion in the hopes that it will make you want to be my friend. I learned long ago that you can not please everyone all the time and you shouldn’t even try…

My Motto; ‘Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind.” I am who I am, love me or hate me, it’s not going to change me!

With that said I will state; this post is probably going to be considered, at least, PG 13 due to coarse language and mature subject matter.

Reader discretion is strongly advised! 

I am the furthest thing from racist. I don’t see color, never really have, I have friends from every corner of the earth. I believe that all people are equal, regardless of race, religion, or sexual orientation. I am a firm believer that everyone deserves an equal opportunity and a chance at a wonderful life….. What I don’t believe is that people should be allowed to come to our country and try to change the way we live. I don’t think it’s fair that I am not allowed to say Merry Christmas, and that schools no longer have Christmas Trees during the Holiday season. No one should tell me that I can’t sing the national anthem, or wear a cross if I desire to do so. My child should be able to celebrate the easter in school, and should be learning about Canadian history.

What I really disagree with is the fact that every single time I call any sort of government office I am greeted by an immigrant that came to Canada, is now working for the Canadian government, and can not speak, or understand, English, which is the main language of our beautiful country! Every time I have to deal with someone from the Canadian government on the phone it turns into a huge battle because the person on the other end of the line cannot understand what I am trying to say… In plain English!

Not to be rude, honestly I know how this must sound, but please read on and give me a chance to explain myself fully before you judge me as a rude, racist, self-centered bitch… (though rude, self-centered, and bitchy may be part of my personality, racist is not one of my traits)

My frustration is not directed at the fact that these people have chosen to immigrate to Canada in search of a better life. I have seen the way people in some of these countries they are fleeing from live, I have read and researched the suffering they have seen, and I can’t even begin to imagine some of the conditions they have survived, pain the have suffered, and the loss they have experienced. I have no issue at all with immigration, in fact, the more the merrier… I don’t even have a problem with these same immigrants securing jobs within our government sector and improving themselves, supporting their families, etc… I think that if you are coming over to this country you should be seeking a better life through employment and education, and you should be securing the best job possible to support you and your family. No, I have no problem with any of this…

What I DO have a problem with is that immigrants have come to Canada to better themselves, create a brighter future for their families and their children, and have become Canadian citizens by choice, and yet they still can not speak or understand fluent English, and they are answering the phones telling me what I have to do, and getting upset that I cannot understand them…

If you are going to come to another country and make the choice to become a citizen of that country, (that choice meaning you are leaving your life, your country and your suffering behind) you should be expected to live by that countries rules, and conform to that countries way of living.

  • Don’t come to Canada and tell us that we should change our flag.
  • Don’t demand that we will re-write our national anthem.
  • And don’t  expect us to speak your native language…

“You chose to come here because you felt it was a better life than you had in your country… if we immigrated to your country we would live by your rules.”

If you come to my house you are expected to remove your shoes at the front door, we do not smoke inside the house, and my children are in bed by 8 p.m….These are the rules of my house and visitors are expected to follow these simple rules. They maybe different from the rules in their house, but they chose to visit me..

I would not come into your home and refuse the rules you have laid out to live by.

  • I would not light a cigarette knowing that you do not smoke indoors.
  • I would not argue that your children should be allowed to stay up later.
  • And I would never dispute the routine that you chose to live by… it is your house.

I chose to visit you!

So why is it that these people chose to leave their country, (where their lives were obviously not fitting their needs) and come here to Canada, (or the U.S as they too face these issues) then try to turn this new country into their homeland?? No offence but If you liked the way things are were in your country, perhaps you should have stayed there!!!

Maybe I am being harsh, but I don’t think I am… I am not talking about religion. (which has nothing to do with the country you live in) I can understand not wanting to talk about the origin of ‘Christmas,’ being the birth of Christ, in schools. I understand the dispute of ‘The Lords Prayer‘ being recited each morning in public schools. (who are we to push the Catholic religion on someone forcing the assumption that it is the “right” religion) NO, that I understand!!! I am not arguing religious beliefs, I am arguing lack of respect, and the need for conformity. I am arguing that if you are going to choose to become a Canadian citizen, you must accept that, that choice means a new way of life.

  • It means a new language,
  • a new environment,
  • and a new set of rules to follow.

It means attempting to fit in to ‘their’ way of living, not expecting them to fit in to yours…. You chose to leave your country (probably for good reasons) I am not arguing that…but, if you are going to come here, you must accept that you made a choice to change your way of life overall, not just your address!

You can judge me if you want to, I really don’t care. I am not saying I don’t want immigrants in Canada, quite the opposite actually I love the diversity that immigration brings. I love the hope and the chance that it provides people who would otherwise have none.

I just feel that should you choose to come to Canada you should understand fully what it means to be Canadian.

  • You should speak and understand English fluently before you are given a job in a Canadian government office.
  • You should accept our flag as your flag now. Have respect and admiration for your history and your previous life, that’s perfectly acceptable, but don’t expect us to change our history or way of living to suit your needs. 
  • You should learn our national anthem in our language. OH! Canada was not written in Arabic, Hindi, Spanish, Italian, or Chinese.. It was written in English and in French… learn it in at least one of the two languages. 

Come to Canada, by all means, come! This is an amazing country with beautiful sights, wonderful people, endless opportunities, and an incredible way of life. We have amazing health care, a solid government (for the most part), a rich history, a strong pride, and great diversity… Yes, come, we welcome you! But as you sign your citizenship card, and swear your pledge to our flag, remember that you are making a choice to be Canadian. Remember that you do not  get to pick and choose what parts of our culture you can adapt to your new life, and remember that we are welcoming you into ‘our home’ with open arms. Make it easier on everyone and work hard to learn our language, live our ways, and be proudly Canadian…

Don’t be that person fighting on the phone because you can not understand what I am saying.
Don’t be that person fighting to change our anthem because it was not written with your language in mind.
Don’t be that person fighting to change our flag so it resembles your old countries just a little bit more. and,
Don’t be that person that spends their life living a lost dream.

Making the choice to be here is more than just a move, an environment, or an address.. It is a way of life that should be embraced whole heartedly.


One thought on “I Apologize in Advance, This Post IS Going to Offend Someone…

  1. I found your blog through a ping-back to my own blog.

    I wouldn’t know where to begin after reading your post, as we are poles apart on our issues with immigration, race and diversity…..so it’s probably best to say “freedom of speech” to you too, and call it a day.

Leave a Reply

