I Woke Up In The Arctic!


Today was one of those bitterly cold days, you know those days when you skin aches and threatens to peel off in the wind? That was today… But of course, no one told me it was one of those days….

I woke up in an excellent mood this morning, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, raring to go. I had a big plan to go to the mall, just me and my daughter ‘L’, and get the Christmas shopping done. I got ‘C’ dressed and off to school without a hitch, got ‘L’ dressed without too much of a fight and even managed to pull myself together in a somewhat respectable manner. We were off to a good start. Coats, boots and I was headed out the door…. I made it to the corner!

Now, I am not completely moronic, I am aware that it’s December and I did not expect daisies and daffodils, but -25 temperatures were not what I was expecting either! By the time I reached the corner at the end of the street (probably 20 steps away) I had extensive frost bite on my face, had lost all feeling in my fingers, and had tears frozen to my cheeks! (No, I am not being dramatic! WTF???)  ‘L’ of course was fine. Bundled tight in blankets, winter clothing, and a plastic protective shield, she sat in her stroller and gleefully giggled as her Mama swore, stomped, and basically threw a fit at the bus stop, in public, on a busy street. Apparently to her 9 month-old mind, my freezing fit was comical.

I managed to get on the bus without turning around and running back home, (mostly due to the fact that home was the exact direction from which the harsh icy wind was blowing) but my mood for shopping had long since dissipated. I simply refused to get off this bus, on to another bus, and then walk from that bus stop in to the mall at least 30 feet away in this horrid weather. I just would not, could not, do it!!!!

Instead, I took the bus to the station, walked up the block to my parents house for a visit, (which turned out to be further and more difficult than the walk from the bus to the mall would have been) and took a taxi home. Yes, I am a wimp! I don’t care! I am honestly not made for this weather. I could wear; 3 pairs of pants, 6 shirts, 8 pairs of gloves, 4 extra socks, and an Eskimo jacket and still be cold…I was meant to bask in the sun dammit!!!

The day was not a total waste though, I did end up getting some great clothes (hand-me-downs, but very nice ones) from my Grandmother, I managed to make it to the grocery store (Via Taxi) and I got the house cleaned up pretty well… so it was still productive at least.

As for Christmas shopping, well I guess next time I make the attempt (tomorrow?) I will be sure to watch the weather network first!!!

One thought on “I Woke Up In The Arctic!

Leave a Reply

