21…… With 7 Years Experience


Day 163 - Happy Birthday

Image by Christophe Verdier via Flickr

Well tomorrow is my birthday…I am officially 21 (with 7 years experience.) Am I excited??? No! Do I feel older??? Not really…I still feel the same as I did when I was 17, 19, 21 with -7 years experience….. a lot has happened over these last 28 21 years though…good and bad. I have learned many lessons, some harder than others. I have seen many things, cried many tears, and shared many laughs. I have had fun, had fear, and felt sadness…but I have survived, somewhat unharmed…well physically anyway!!! Here are some things that I have learned over the last 28… ahem…I mean 21 years;

  • Life is too short to worry about what others think. You will never please everyone, it is best to just please yourself.
  • Education is everything.
  • Saying “I don’t want children.” is not an effective form of birth control.
  • There comes a time when you should stop expecting people to make a big deal out of your birthday, this time is age 11
  • Nobody is normal.
  • Even though you say “you don’t want children” once you have them you would never change that fact for anything!!!
  • You can not change another person, you can only control the way you react.
  • You should always fight for what you believe in, no matter how irrational that maybe.
  • You should always find a way to do what you love, even if it is only on a part-time basis.
  • Laughter really is the best medicine.
  • It is important that you always ask yourself…”Will this matter in a year?”
  • Parenting is not about perfection it is about love. The same goes for life and self-esteem!!
  • Although things may get bad, they will always get better.
  • Just because someone doesn’t love you the way you want them to, does not mean they don’t love you.
  • You can keep going long after you think you can’t go any longer.
  • You should always leave with loving words.
  • You can love someone and still not like them very much.
  • You have the right to be angry, but that doesn’t give you the right to be cruel.
  • Your circumstances, and environment may impact you as a person, but they do not make you the person you are.
  • Each person we meet has something to teach us, if we just shut up and listen.
  • If something seems too good to be true, it probably is.
  • Following your instinct is usually better than following your heart… your heart can lead you astray, your gut can not lie.
  • Acting without thinking can, and will, cause more heartache then necessary.
  • If you truly want something you have to work for it.
  • Take time to appreciate your children, or any children, they grow up so fast and quickly lose their innocence.
  • In life, no matter what path you choose to take, you will end up exactly where you need to be.
  • There will always be someone who can do something better than you, but that does not mean they can do everything.
  • There is never going to be a perfect time, or enough money.
  • Happiness truly is a state of mind.
  • It is best to bite your tongue. Mama was right, if you don’t have anything nice to say don’t say anything.
  • Never let go of the joy of Christmas, it is the one link to your childhood that you can easily keep alive.
  • Don’t take yourself too seriously, no one else does.
  • Don’t let others opinion of you become your reality.
  • Those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.
  • A good friend is better than a psychiatrist.
  • I still have a lot to learn.

With all these lessons I still have much to learn, see, and try in my life. My only wish for this next chapter of my life is that I take time to enjoy it more often. Appreciate the little things. Have more laughter, and seek more happiness. I don’t aspire to do amazing things I can only hope to do things amazingly.  So as I blow out the candles on my imaginary cake tomorrow I will wish this…for happiness and simplicity, for love, joy, and more lessons along the way!

Leave a Reply

