‘Tis The Season To Be…?


the sexy santa assistants were there to take a...

Image via Wikipedia

As everyone is aware of it is coming upon the Christmas season. I should be excited… after all Christmas is usually my favorite time of year. I remember the good old days, waking up at 5 a.m. and sneaking downstairs to shake all the gifts, (though I had usually snooped enough to know exactly what I was going to receive) opening my stocking, and waiting patiently (or not so patiently) until 7 a.m. when it was acceptable to wake my parents. I remember each year, my fathers futile (yet failed) attempts to coax us into eating breakfast before opening presents, and I remember the effort my parents put into trying to have the gifts opened in an orderly fashion. I recall the family moments, the big, amazing dinner, the cookies, the love… and yet this year I just do not feel it! It seems each year it is getting more and more difficult to see the joy in the joyful season.

I am usually counting down the days till Christmas morning long before the first snowfall. Perhaps it is due to the fact that my natural procrastination is at an all time high. It is November 9th and I have not even purchased one gift yet. I have not even left the house to think about purchasing one gift yet, in fact I have no desire to purchase any gifts what so ever…. which is strange for me because I am somewhat of a compulsive shopper!!! (OK a little more than somewhat, shopping is usually the never-fail-to-make-me-happy thing to do!)

The thought of the Holiday season is actually making me physically sick! I am considering packing up the children and taking the money that would be spent on christmas gifts to catch a flight to a place where there is no Christmas…??? Any ideas???

Honestly I just don’t want to do it… the crowded malls, the oh-so-pleasant shoppers, the over priced toys that will be discarded or destroyed within moments of assembly, if they even make it through the intricate assembly process….I just DON’T WANT TO DO IT!!! Would it be wrong to boycott Christmas?? Would my children be mentally scared if I lied and told them that Santa died? The reindeer forgot how to fly? Or that Christmas has been banned by the government?

Maybe once the snowfalls I will feel more into the spirit? Maybe once the tree is up and I see the “Christmas Spirit” all around…. I mean afterall I have TWO children now… I guess I should at least try to fake excitement!!!???

One thought on “‘Tis The Season To Be…?

Leave a Reply

