Selfish Bitch


Seule au Matin

Image by Christi Nielsen via Flickr

 I have been hearing the word selfish a lot lately, directed not only towards me, but many others around me. This word has really started me thinking. Funny how one word can do that when you have an open mind!  

 The definition of selfish is; Concerned chiefly or only with oneself.

 When I look at the meaning of the word “selfish” I have to question whether a person can truly be “selfish” at all. I don’t believe that it is humanly possible for someone to have a complete disregard for others feeling on a whole, which means that any one person is not truly selfish.

 I also thought about what being selfish does, being selfish means you only care about what benefits yourself, you work only for your own gain, and you strive only to achieve your own goals.

 When you look at selfish like this I have to ask what is so wrong with being selfish? Sure we all have to help others, care for others, and do what we can to make the world a better place, but what’s wrong with making ourselves better in the process? I am a strong believer that you must look out for yourself; you are your number one priority. Many people with children will probably disagree with me, and their people priority list probably goes something like; kids, family, me, and everyone else. The truth is you HAVE to be number one for yourself, because without you what do your kids or family have?

 See being selfish is not such a bad thing, the definition is just wrong. People only look at selfishness in a bad light when they themselves are not taking the time they need to do what’s best for THEM.

 Yes of course there are times when people are overly selfish, unwilling to compromise, and just plain mean, but in reality, most of the time when we find ourselves acting in a selfish way it is because we know what we need and we are willing to do what it takes to get it. We are not intentionally hurting people, we are not trying to make others feel bad, and we are not choosing ourselves over others with the purpose of being more important, or better than them. We are simply doing what we need to do in order to be happy.

 As I said before no one is truly selfish, for no person can truly ignore the feelings of others. There is nothing wrong with wanting to make yourself happy, there is nothing wrong with being passionate about it, if that make me selfish than so be it, selfish I will be, but I will accomplish all I strive to achieve, and I will not live life with the regret “if I had only done this differently”. If being selfish mean that I stand-up for what I believe in, what I desire, and what I need, then I will be selfish, and I will be proud!

Leave a Reply

