You Twitt


Image representing Twitter as depicted in Crun...

Image via CrunchBase

 

Twitter: to talk lightly and rapidly, esp. of trivial matters; chatter. – Dictionary.com   

I have to be honest with you. This is not something I am proud of, not something I like to admit to people, but I feel that if you are going to be following my blog there is a certain level of honesty I owe you. I don’t understand twitter! There I said it. Sure I get the basics, it is simple status updates. That is it for me though; I don’t fully understand the concept.    

I use twitter and I enjoy the thrill involved with sharing what I am doing with the world, I get excited when I have new followers, and I enjoy reading other users thoughts, or ideas in the 140 words you are allotted to write. The one major thing that gets to me is the replies, when I see @whoever on a tweet, I don’t understand the concept of this, I don’t know if it is some inside joke that is just going over my head, or if I am just a twit myself for not seeing what others clearly see. I have tried to reply to other users tweets on numerous occasions, but I never seem to get any responses myself, and so I am unsure if I am doing what I am supposed to??? 

It is shameful, I know. I generally consider myself technologically advanced. I know how to use my computer, cell phone, and even my cell phone as a computer. I am an avid Facebook junkie, and I have no issues finding interesting sites on-line to make use of on a daily basis. I have created simple websites in the past using HTML, and I have a number of popular electronics that I know how to hook-up and even use. But put me on twitter, and tell me to do something other than a basic post, and I am LOST!   I have followers on twitter, I update regularly, I even follow a number of very interesting people myself, but I just don’t get it! It seems to be the exact same concept as a Facebook status, but in a different place. It is one of the most talked about social networking sites in the world, yet it is so basic but complex all at once.  Maybe that is the issue; maybe I am just trying to make it more complicated than it needs to be. I tend to do that you know. Perhaps it is just that simple! I guess it doesn’t matter really, I just feel like I am the only person in the world who “just doesn’t comprehend” why this site is SO amazing.   Just a thought!   

 

Leave a Reply

